Photo courtesy of Mark Krancer

The Memorial Park Association Elects Officers and Celebrates Thirtieth Anniversary



The Memorial Park Association Elects Officers and Celebrates Thirtieth Anniversary

Jacksonville, Fla. — January 19, 2017 — The Memorial Park Association held its Annual Meeting at the Haskell Building Wednesday evening, January 11th, to elect new officers. Following the meeting, board members and guests were given a presentation highlighting the history of Memorial Park along with the association’s work to enhance, maintain and restore the park. Featured guest speaker, historian and documentarian Laurence Cotton, discussed the significance of having an Olmsted designed park in Jacksonville. Mr. Cotton was the principal researcher and consulting producer of “Frederick Law Olmsted: Designing America,” which was screened the previous evening at Sun-Ray Cinema in front of a large audience.

After recognizing outgoing directors, Terry Hallihan, Holly Keris, JoAnn Meyer and Robin Patton, for their service to MPA, outgoing president, Agnes Danciger, ceremoniously passed a virtual gavel to incoming president, Percy Rosenbloom. “Memorial Park is both a community and a national treasure,” Rosenbloom said. “The dedication and efforts of the Memorial Park Association to preserve the park and maintain its historical integrity have been impressive. More importantly they have been effective. I look forward to serving the association and to honor those brave Floridians who gave their all in World War I.”

The 2017-2018 Officers and Board are:

Percy Rosenbloom III

Executive Vice President
Timothy A. Burleigh

Barbara H. Arnold

Matthew Cochran

Vice Presidents at Large
Michele Luthin
Karen McCombs


  • Frank Bioteau
  • Michael Blackstone
  • Gerri Boyce
  • Agnes Danciger
  • David Foerster
  • Robinson Frazier
  • Patricia Houlihan
  • Alden Howell
  • Laurie Jarvis
  • Alexandria Klempf
  • Emily Lisska
  • Elizabeth McRae
  • Joan Newton
  • Susan Ober
  • Dylan Phillips
  • Paula Skitsko
  • Tim Tyler
  • Warner Webb, M.D


About Memorial Park and the Memorial Park Association
Memorial Park is located at 1620 Riverside Ave., between Margaret Street and Memorial Park Drive in Riverside near the 5 Points area of Jacksonville, Fla. Established in 1986, The Memorial Park Association is a nonprofit charitable organization serving its mission to enhance, promote and preserve Memorial Park as the premier historic park in the City of Jacksonville. Designed by the famed Olmsted Brothers and dedicated on Dec. 25, 1924, it is the only park in the state dedicated to the 1,220 Floridians who lost their lives in service during World War I. In 2012, the Memorial Park  Association initiated major planning efforts to restore and rehabilitate Memorial Park to its original grandeur, culminating in the development of a viable master plan that will serve as the foundation for continued restoration efforts. Learn more about Memorial Park and the Memorial Park Association here or visit them on Facebook or Twitter.

01/19/2017 The Memorial Park Association Elects Officers and Celebrates Thirtieth Anniversary Press Release (pdf)
For all media inquiries, please email: